Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
By-laws, Governance, Meeting Minutes, and Reports

Technical Information

See the dLOC LibGuide for technical information.

Other Resources for Partners

Text below last updated on November 17, 2020.

dLOC is governed by an Executive Committee which oversees all project activities, a Scholarly Advisory Board which provides guidance to the Executive Committee, and a group of Contributors working toward dLOC's continued success and sustainability. The Governing structure shall consist of an Executive Committee, Advisory Board, Executive Director, and sub-committees.

Information on representatives updated 2018-2020. >

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall be the governing body of dLOC. The Committee shall consist of nine partner representatives elected from the institutional representatives by the general body, one institutional representative from one of the host institutions, and representative of the Institutional Members and the Chair of the Scholarly Advisory Board, non-voting, for a total of 12 members. Terms of office shall be staggered, 2-year terms. A majority shall constitute a quorum of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee democratically votes on key decisions affecting the future of dLOC, and convenes once a year in proximity of the Association of Caribbean University, Research and Institutional Libraries (ACURIL) conference.

  1. Chair: Barry Baker, Director of Libraries, University of Central Florida (UCF)
  2. Vice-Chair: Sandra Barker, Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
  3. Secretary: Pending Election
  4. Member: Dulce María Núñez de Taveras, Director, Biblioteca, Pontificia Universidad Madre y Maestra
  5. Member: Astrid Britten, Director, Aruba National Library (Biblioteca Nacional Aruba)
  6. Member: Lusiola Castillo, Chief Librarian, Belize National Library Service and Information System (BNLSIS)
  7. Member:  Johnny Saintelus, Digitization Director, Archives Nationales d'Haïti (ANH)
  8. Member: Marie-France Guillaume, Exective Director, Brothers of Christian Instruction Library
  9. Member: Celia P. Prince-Richard, Manager, Library and Faculty Technology Services, University of the Virgin Islands
  10. Representative for dLOC Members: Pending election
  11. Host Institution: Anne Prestamo, Dean of Libraries, Florida International University (FIU), and Judith C. Russell, Dean of University Libraries, University of Florida (UF)
  12. Scholarly Advisory Board Co-Chairs: See the Scholarly Advisory Board materials for current.

Scholarly Advisory Board

The dLOC Scholarly Advisory Board includes academics and professionals in Caribbean Studies. See the 2019 charge and roster:


dLOC Contributors consist of trainers, programmers, and librarians from dLOC's current grant-chartered directing institutions: Florida International University (FIU) the University of the Virgin Islands (UVI), and the University of Florida (UF).

See the dLOC manual for a list of contacts who liaise and support partners.